Tuesday, March 23, 2010

6.1 and counting!

6.1 pounds total weight loss and counting and I STILL haven't counted, weighed or measured anything! As a matter of face with all the busy-ness of the last 2 weeks I haven't even been to the gym (gasp).

Obviously my body is thrilled to be detoxing the things that make it work less than at peak. So truth be told I think I'm going to be trying to stay as wheat free as possible from here on out. I'm a bit sad that I'm out of the chocolate protein shake as my husband now loves it, but ordered a new container and it should be here before the end of the week!

So, my oatmeal is ready and my detox tea is just about brewed. I'm off to face the day!

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Is it wrong....?

That I'm watching Biggest Loser eating an apple with natural peanut butter?! I always feel guilty if I'm snacking at all when I watch that show. LOL

So I'm into week 2 and the plan isn't hard nor difficult to follow, but I'm in a funny place where I don't want to stock the fridge since I'm leaving for NTC tomorrow. So its scrounging through what is left and making it work.

Overall my clothes are feeling looser, they fit better. The spare tire around my middle is deflating and I have more energy. I am going to have to add a probiotic supplement or reintroduce yogurt into my plan. I had to take a round of antibiotics 3 weeks ago due to tonsilitis (despite having had my tonsils removed at 16). Anyway, the side effects of the antibiotics are with me still. That's not fun, but the detox plan has settled symptoms some anyway. So we'll see if adding yogurt slows the weight loss down.

BUT the biggest challenge will be finding healthy, suitable food while in Vegas for 4 days. Eeek! I'm excited for the conference, the Grand Awards Ceremony and the amazing product launch. I'm nervous about leaving my kidlets behind and Jared. My kids are with my parents for the rest of the week and then with daddy for the weekend till I get home. I know everyone will be just fine, but I'm the one who is having a rough time being away from them!!


Sunday, March 14, 2010

Week one is done!

Wow, that went fast. Yesterday was hard because I was really fighting the habits of the weekend (eating mindlessly). But I got through it and although I didn't follow the plan exactly yesterday because we went out for sushi (try to avoid soy in a sushi joint) I realized WHY I want to avoid it. Within minutes of eating I felt awful, bloated, nauseous, generally lacking energy. It was not a great feeling at all. Hmmm, I wonder how much of the tiredness I've felt the last 4 years has been food related.

Anyway, cleared the system by having the Arbonne Go Easy Chocolate shake last night (with the almond milk of course) and woke up feeling much, much better. So off into week 2 I go 3.5 pounds lighter, feeling more energetic (even with an hour's less sleep) and excited to see how much more change will take place as my body clears itself of foods it found toxic.

I'm loving the journey.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

On a roll!

2.8 pounds as of 7am this morning! :D

My jeans started to fall down this afternoon which means for now I have to go get a new belt. The new clothes will have to wait till I'm done. I'm quite excited because now I know I will comfortably fit into my semi-formal dresses for the Grand Awards Celebration in Vegas next weekend. I'm quite excited about feeling more confident in those dresses (haven't totally decided which one I will wear) and not feeling so much like I"m still carrying all that baby weight from my last pregnancy (which ended 3 years ago!)

My favourite meal replacement shake recipe so far is:

2 scoops of Arbonne's Go Easy Chocolate protein powder
1 cup vanilla Almond Milk
1 cup ice cubes
1/2 banana
1/4 cup frozen pineapple or mango
1 scoop Arbonne's Go Anywhere Fibre Booster


blended thoroughly makes the most yummy, smooth, feels-like-a-cheat chocolate shake every time!


Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Day 5

Weeeeeee! Down another 1.1 pounds for a total of 2.3! This is the start of day 5 and in 4 days I've dropped 2.3 pounds. Give me another 3 days and I'll really be getting this body whipped into shape!

Love it, whole foods, real foods, not counting calories or measuring portions, just eating real, whole, healthy foods. Avoiding dairy, pork, soy, wheat and sugar and that's all its taken for this body to shed that extra toxic weight. Can't imagine how energetic I will feel in 4 weeks!

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Day 4!!!

I am feeling great. I really and truly am. I managed to survive the trip to the restaurant without getting the Saganaki (cheese!) nor any bread and just had prawns. Today I had a little "dip" but it was not intentional so over it, moving on.

I discovered that the Almond Milk in my protein shakes is fabulous. I mean really fabulous (I mentioned that yesterday) and it's feeling like a bit of a cheat! My 4 year old loves it and keeps asking for it all day. Awesome.

The best part is that 1.2 pounds has come off so far and I'm loving the feeling. I actually feel different. I've noticed changes and the most obvious one is that at night I start to get cold as my body is burning up excess fat to detox. I know that I only ever feel this cold when I am loosing weight significantly. My rings are looser and my face seems to have lost some pudge. So overall this detox diet seems to be doing its job. And I'm not starving! I hate that feeling. So, off to bed for the night. Looking forward to the day tomorrow.

Monday, March 8, 2010

Oh boy!

Ok today is definitely the caffeine withdrawal day! I can feel it and I am craving my latte and I am craving bread! It's all good. I'm going to stick with it because I know from experience day 3 or 4 is usually the worst day of whatever change you have committed to.

Hmmmm, tonight might be a challenge as we go out to our favorite Italian restaurant after our Nation Meeting and the amazing cheese melt with pita bread - oi! I'll have to have the shrimp starter or a salad instead (both yummy) but that cheese has been calling my name all month!!!

On another note I just made the banana, almond milk, chocolate protein shake with Arbonne's Go Easy Chocolate Protein shake (vegan, no artificial colour, flavour or sweetener, no soy) and boy is it yum! I think I've found a post-workout or meal replacement favourite!

Day 3 - not so bad

Not bad, not bad! Unofficially I've dropped half a pound in 2 days. I feel great and I haven't had heartburn since I've cut the wheat out. That's a great change. I've been less bloated too, which is funny considering I'm eating beans and lots of greens. Sooooo, that leads me to conclude that I truly do have a wheat sensitivity and its back to either buying wheat-free products or baking my own kamut bread again.
I love that spring always makes me crave vegetables, the more colourful the better, and timing wise this was perfect for starting this detox plan. Its also amazing how when you don't eat "filler" food (the stuff of little nutritional value that fills you up) your taste buds become more sensitive to all the subtle flavours in ordinary foods. I can actually taste the starch in a pepper that wasn't allowed to vine ripen! Wild.
So, I'm heading into my week excited for the changes in my body. I'm also excited that my Citrus Surge NRGGo3 Fizzy Tabs are on their way today! I was down to 2 tabs left and that is not enough for the day - not when you drank 2 to 3 lattes a day!
A cool side effect of NOT starting the day with a latte is that I don't get impatient. When the caffeine rush was abating I found myself irritable and easily frustrated with little patience for the noise and constant demands of the little people in my house. Okay, so I haven't turned into a morning person and I would still LOVE to have 30 minutes of silence (or at least quiet) after I wake up, but at least I'm not a screaming mom within a few minutes of crashing from my latte!
So with my new found morning patience I'm heading into a busy day today. The sun is out: that always makes it seem more appropriate to be eating veggies! :D

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Day 2

Well I made it through day 1 without too much of a hiccup. It was easier than expected and I actually enjoyed my meals yesterday. Mindful eating.

So I have just had organic oatmeal with fruit and berries and I feel full. I am drinking my detox tea while my Fizzy Tab is chilling and it feels great. Though I do admit I miss my latte. Thankfully I did not experience caffeine headaches yesterday until I was really hungry, and then food quickly took care of it. Overall I think this will be very manageable and doable.

One of the things I have realized is that I will have to make sure I take my supplements daily, especially the calcium, now that I can not have any dairy for 27 more days. So I must recreate that habit.

So, off into the day I go. I'm feeling great and expecting weight loss as a bonus. Let's see how many of the 15 extra pounds come off this way.

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Day 1 - where's my latte?


I decided to do the 28 day detox diet from Arbonne's Health and Wellness party (email me if you want details). I've been putting it off even though its worked so well for my clients and friends. Finally bit the bullet and decided to start.

Believe it or not it wasn't that the plan is complicated or leaves you starving that had me stalling. It was that I have a ritual of starting my day out with a latte! And that is 2 of the very few no-nos on this plan that I would give up at the start of my first day: coffee and milk! Didn't think I could do it, but really after falling in love with Arbonne's NRG Go3 Fizzy Tabs (again ask me) I think I can do this.

So I'm eating my scrambled eggs with pineapple salsa (need to go shopping obviously) and sipping my Detox Tea while my Fizzy Tab is chilling in the fridge. Oddly while I miss having the latte in my hand and the sweet taste of it (milk and espresso, no syrup for me) I actually feel pretty good.

Hmmm, might have to rethink dinner tonight. I had thawed pork chops but they're a no no on my plan so will have to come up with something else.

Questions? Email me by clicking here
Check out the products here

PS Its 2:20pm and I'm hitting the afternoon munchies! Yikes. I want to eat but I'm feeling so good I don't want to blow the plan. Thank goodness for Creamy Caramel Chews :D And yes they are part of the plan and vegan.